Cleethorpes pier was opened on the 4th August 1873 and like several others was originally considerably longer than it is now. The tide on the west coast goes out a long way, so to enable it to accommodate pleasure boasts carrying visitors to the beach and town it was built 1,200 feet long.
In 1883 a concert hall was erected at the pier head, which burned down in 1903. In 1905 a new pavilion was built on an extension about a third of the way along the pier from the land end entrance. This is now home to what the owners claim to be the largest fish and chip restaurant in the country.
At the outbreak of the second world war, Cleethorpes pier was cut to stop it being used as a landing stage for the enemy, then in 1949 the seaward end was badly damaged in a storm and for safety reasons, the council demolished part of its connecting jetty.
Since then, it was once briefly renamed Pier 39, after the one in San Francisco, despite having no resemblance to its American counterpart whatsoever.